Department of Transport.—The Department was created on Nov. 2, 1936 from the former Departments of Marine and of Railways and Canals, and the Civil Aviation Branch of the Department of National Defence (RSC 1952, c. 79).

The work of the Department consists of two main Services—Marine and Air. Marine Service operations include aids to navigation, nautical and pilotage services, marine agencies, secondary canals, steamship inspection, the Canadian Coast Guard, and direct supervision over 300 public harbours; 11 other harbours come under supervision of the Department but are administered by commissions. Air Services cover the operation of the Telecommunications and Electronics, Civil Aviation, and Meteorological Branches. The work of the Telecommunications and Electronics Branch includes the administration of national and international radio laws, regulations and agreements; it is also responsible for the construction, installation, maintenance and operation of aeronautical, marine and meteorological radio-communication stations and of radio and electronics aids to marine and air navigation.

The Minister of Transport is responsible to Parliament for the following boards, commissions and Crown companies: Air Canada, the Air Transport Board, the Board of Transport Commissioners, the Canadian Maritime Commission, the National Harbours Board, the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority, the Canadian Overseas Telecommunication Corporation, the Canadian National Railways, and the Atlantic Development Board.

Treasury Board.—The Treasury Board was first established by Order in Council PC3 of July 2, 1867 and was made statutory in 1869. Its powers and duties are now governed by the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1952, c. 116 as amended). Serving as a committee of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada and consisting of the Minister of Finance as Chairman and five other members of the Privy Council, it deals with all matters relating to finance, revenues, estimates, expenditures and financial commitments, accounts and personnel establishments referred to the Board by the Governor in Council or on which the Board considers it necessary to act under the Financial Administration Act or any other Act. The practice of having a Board of Ministers co-ordinating financial measures and reviewing constantly the Government's spending program is unique.

The administrative staff of the Treasury Board constitutes a main division of the Department of Finance and is directed by an Assistant Deputy Minister of Finance named to be the Secretary of the Treasury Board.

Department of Veterans Affairs.—This Department, established in 1944 (RSC 1952, c. 80), is concerned exclusively with the welfare of veterans and with the dependants of veterans and of those who died on active service. The Department provides treatment services (hospital, medical, dental and prosthetic), welfare services, education assistance, life insurance, and land settlement and home construction assistance. The Veterans' Bureau assists veterans in the preparation and presentation of pension claims.

The Canadian Pension Commission established by the Pension Act (RSC 1952, c. 207), and the War Veterans Allowance Board established by the War Veterans Allowance Act (RSC 1952, c. 340) also report to Parliament through the Minister of Veterans Affairs.

The Department has treatment institutions and facilities in a number of urban centres. It also maintains, in large cities across Canada, administrative offices, which are shared with the Canadian Pension Commission and the War Veterans Allowance Board, and an office in London, England.

War Veterans Allowance Roard.—This Board, established under the authority of the War Veterans Allowance Act, 1930 (RSC 1952, c. 340 as amended), is a statutory body responsible to the Minister of Veterans Affairs for the administration of the Act and for the administration of Part XI of the Civilian War Pensions and Allowances Act relating to certain groups of civilians who performed meritorious service in either World War I or II. It consists of three to ten members (three to five permanent, up to three temporary, and up to two additional without pay) appointed by the Governor in Council. Its functions include the responsibility of ensuring that all 19 District Authorities located in various regions throughout Canada interpret the legislation in a fair, reasonable and equitable manner. It is also an appeal body and may consider an appeal of an appellant against the decision of a District Authority.

Section 3.—Crown Corporations

The Crown corporation form of public enterprise is not a new type of organization in Canada but in recent years, as the work of government has become more complex, greater reliance has been placed on it as the appropriate instrument for administering and managing many public services in which business enterprise and public accountability must be combined.

The use of the corporate device to harmonize public responsibility in the development of economic resources and the provision of public services with the pursuit of commercial